Revived by Delia: Next Stop On The DIY Blog Tour!

I have been blogging for about a year.  It has been amazing on so many levels.  It’s a very interesting dynamic that you can feel totally open to people that you do not know at all, but have so much in common with.  It’s been a very educational experience – learning how to effectively (and sometimes not so effectively) commit to tasks, with lessons in time management, realism, and learning my true style – and when to go with it and when to go with what will sell fastest.  See?  Amazing dynamics all over the place.

BioPic21

I have met so many great people who have been so supportive in this endeavor.  One example is Melanie, from Lost and Found Décor.  When I first started blogging, Melanie had been doing so for about a year, so she became (unbeknownst to her) a mentor of sorts.  Her growth and honesty over the course of her time blogging has been really faith inspiring, in times when it came easy to me, and those when it did not.  So when Melanie asked if I would be willing to come “on tour” with her… what an honor.  Thank you Melanie.

Melanie shared her story here and passed the tour to me.  And with that, I will share a bit about myself and what I do, then pass to tour onto a very talented friend below…

dings

  1. What am I working on?

At the moment, I am up to my eyeballs in projects.  Some even tower over my eyeballs.  Lamp shades piled on chairs, piled on desks, piled on dressers.  It’s a bit overwhelming, to be honest with you.  So… what am I working on?  In a nutshell, I am working on reclaiming my workspace.  It has become over-run with furniture needing to be redone and general storage.  To accomplish this reclamation, I will have to finish 2 dressers, 2 desks, at least 3 chairs, a coffee table, a stool, some signage… did I mention ‘overwhelming’?  And then bring it to the shop to sell!  And that’s the fun stuff.  Outside of those goodies, there are indeterminate amounts of items very eligible for donation to a good cause.  A hearty amount of dedication and more time than I have (at least in the foreseeable future) will be required.  But the goal?  Space!  And completed projects!

But to be more specific, and for a little eye candy, these are a couple items on the to-do list.  What would you do with them?

A small vintage record cabinet – a smidge too orange for my liking…

IMAG1301

 And this great vintage dresser & mirror set:

IMAG0003

IMAG0004

 

  1. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I love pieces that are classic.  Well that’s nothing different from others… but that does make it more difficult to come across good, unadultered pieces.  When I do, there is such happiness that I am blinded to the blemishes, since that is actually what my mind’s eye interprets as “beauty”.  Immediately upon the money leaving my hand, it’s as though each and every blemish jumps out with a blinking sign indicating how much much time & work it’s going to take to fix.  But that’s ok.  The blemishes are what I generally spotlight.  My goal is to take the bad and make it good.  Give the piece it’s own personality, hopefully highlighting period details while making the piece a desirable addition to a modern day home.

 One example:BedEmbellishRedo

And another:

bef-aft-collage

 

3.   Why do I write/create what I do?

Taking a discarded piece of furniture, something someone deemed ‘unworthy’, and making it aesthetically pleasing and functional in a modern space is an amazing feeling.  At the risk of sounding old, they really don’t make ’em like they used to.  When I’m looking for pieces, I think about what would work in my home – if ever I get something new, it is guaranteed not to last 5 minutes.  It’s the same with furniture.  I need my furniture to start out “lived in” so I don’t mind if another scratch joins the pre-existing when a Matchbox car takes a whirlwind ride across it, screeching and scratching around curves and obstacles.  Pieces that are flawless and perfect – I can appreciate their beauty from afar, but those are for someone else to love.  They may have made it a hundred years without so much as a scratch, but they wouldn’t last a day in my world!  This is one of the reasons I am drawn to milk paint.  It highlights all the wonderful imperfections as imprints of character, and provides a finish with depth.  And it’s 100% non-toxic, what’s not to love?!

IMG_7897

Revived by Delia - After 6

After Chippy

 

  1. How does your writing/ creating process work?

I’ll admit, I’m not a good multi-tasker… I’m workin’ on it…  So I try to limit myself to one item at a time, although I generally haul out two or three things with the best of intentions… and then sadly, have to haul most of it back.  I try to remember to take pictures along the way so I can share with you.  And I try to think of wording throughout the process as I’m doing each step.

Would you like to know my biggest hurdle?  I’ve already mentioned the “overwhelming” amount of projects I have to keep myself busy.  If I let myself, I can (in moments of weakness) look at the monstrous teetering pile and get such a burst of all the things that need to be done that I just…. walk away.  So to combat that urge, generally a little bit of a motivational kick-start is in order.  This step is very tricky though – you have been warned, as if you are not careful, it can fully commandeer your entire day (and occasionally night).  There has to be limits.

What I do is this:  check my Furniture Inspiration Board on Pinterest.

(If you’re not following me on Pinterest, please feel free using the link provided above – I’ve got some great pins out there!  And if you’re not on Pinterest, what are you, mad??!!  Do you know all the insanely wonderful things you are missing?)  All those beauties get my creative juices flowing!

I hope this information has been helpful!  If you would like to get emails when I publish a new post, you can sign up to the right.

dings

 

There are so many inspirational people, sharing their knowledge and experiences, willing to help if you need.  Which brings me to the following introduction!

Stacey of Embracing Change

Stacey is Mother of two sweet and beautiful girls, wife to the most wonderful man ever who is a pastor and lover of Jesus, and a former Master’s level counselor that currently is engaging in a love for painting furniture and other creative outlets.  Stacey enjoys taking old and discarded pieces of furniture and making them over into beautiful creations!  She is blessed to be able to stay at home and do what she loves – paint furniture.  Stacey sells her pieces at her side business, The Blessed Nest.  Stacey’s hobbies are spending time with family, painting, thrifting, travelling, blogging, and decorating her home.  She feels blessed beyond measure and thankful to the Lord for everything she has!

Stacey Embracing Change

Two tone Desk 1 - Embracing Change

Stacey’s tenacity and courage when she updates her furniture is very awe inspiring.  She is incredibly talented and shares her wonderful furniture updates frequently on her blog.  If you haven’t seen Stacey’s work, please take some time to check her out.  And be sure to stop by her blog next Monday, September 22nd for the next stop on the DIY Blog Tour – Stacey Embracing Change!

Thank you for taking the time to tour with us this week!  Please stop by again!

Signature2

Featured on these fabulous blogs:

Cozy Little House

Linking To:

Monday:  Mod Vintage Life – Stone Gable – Miss Mustard Seed Milk Paint – Sand and Sisal  TuesdayElizabeth and Co. – Beyond the Picket Fence – Knick of Time – Cozy Little House  Wednesday:  Savvy Southern Style – Redoux Interiors – City Farmhouse – The Dedicated House  Thursday:  Imparting Grace – The Charm of Home – From My Front Porch to Yours – Craftberry Bush – Embracing Change   Friday:  Miss Mustard Seed –  Funky Junk Interiors – My Romantic Home – French Country Cottage – The Shabby Nest – The Cottage Market  Saturday:  Life on Lakeshore Drive  Sunday:  Nifty Thrifty Things – Finding Silver Pennies

 


5 thoughts on “Revived by Delia: Next Stop On The DIY Blog Tour!

  1. You are so sweet Delia, and I am honored to be considered a “mentor” in the blog sphere. I feel like I still know absolutely nothing! But I have had fun learning, and I love that what I’ve learned has been helpful to you also. I still think your chair makeover with the woven seat is the most creative makeover I have seen. You are awesome!

  2. Pingback: Black Milk Paint Vintage Record Cabinet – Updated! |

  3. Pingback: Embracing Change: The Next Stop On The Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

