Grabbing the Real Camera

Smartphones. I use mine for everything. It’s so convenient. Besides my phone, it contains my calendar, notes, email, all forms of social media access, GPS, calculator, video camera and the ever convenient point and shoot camera. Which brings me to today’s post… the difference between convenience and just being too lazy to get the real camera!

I must say, I have taken some very impressive pictures with my phone. But lighting and surroundings generally need to be in close to ideal circumstances with good natural lighting. Taking shots of furniture pieces redone doesn’t always offer the same availability for those surroundings. Being a busy mom, I’m generally doing what I can, when I can, which is often into the late hours of night. Obviously lighting isn’t optimal. Winter and snow (oh, how I dread them…) don’t allow me to bring everything outside to snap worthy shots.

I have turned to my phone’s camera as a convenience, and although I can’t guarantee that I won’t post any phone shots in the future, I am going to try to be less lazy and take the time to use my “real” camera. Because although I absolutely LOVED the pieces I have posted up until this point, I am embarassed by the quality of some of the photos. So I am going to try to be smarter about what I use my smartphone for.

By way of depiction, and a little self-motivation, I have posted below some shots to compare my phone camera to my Canon. Keep in mind, I am not a photographer, nor do I claim to have any strong talents in this respect, but I do try to capture the life of the piece. Hopefully that is what comes across.  I have not altered or enhanced the picture quality.

These first couple shots really amazed me.  These were taken in my kitchen at… about 4:20 PM according to the clock.  The only light in the room was that which came through three windows.  The phone picture is how the scene in my kitchen really looked.  It was so dark.  And look how much light the Canon pulled in.

Compare1

Compare2

This next shot was with my kitchen lights on – thus the overlapping shadows.   Do you see the slight variance in coloring between the two?  The Canon pulled in significantly more detail.  But although the phone shot is a little grainy, it’s not terrible.

Compare3

These last pictures were taken outside in the remaining light of the setting sun.  This first one is my favorite.  But you can see how the phone tends to focus broadly across the different depths, where the Canon focuses sharply – the clock face, the edges of the book pages, the threadbare worn corner of the book cover…

Compare4

Compare5

Compare6

Ultimately, in a pinch or for Before (and maybe even During) shots, the phone camera will do.  But the quality of the Canon is worth the minor inconvenience of having to fetch it!

One last un-Polaroid-ified shot of my favorite…

Featured

Signature2

Linking To:

Monday:  Mod Vintage Life – Home Coming – Maison de Pax – Cupcakes and Crinoline – Beyond the Picket Fence – Stone Gable – Dwellings   Tuesday:  Elizabeth and Co. – Common Ground – My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia – Coastal Charm – Knick of Time – Cozy Little House – Kent Weakley   Wednesday:  Savvy Southern Style – Glamorous Affordable Life – City Farmhouse   Thursday:  No Minimalist Here – Imparting Grace – The Charm of Home – From My Front Porch to Yours – Craftberry Bush – The Vintage Farmhouse   Friday:  Miss Mustard Seed – Stylish Patina – Redoux Interiors – My Romantic Home – French Country Cottage  – The Shabby Nest – Jennifer Rizzo  – One Project Closer – I Heart Naptime – The Cottage Market   Saturday:  Life on Lakeshore Drive    Sunday:  Nifty Thrifty Things –  Do Small Things with Love – VMG206 – Finding Silver Pennies

9 thoughts on “Grabbing the Real Camera

  1. I don’t own a real camera but I would love to get one, my blog has been suffering with cell phone photos…it really is embarrassing! I have been saving for a good camera that won’t break my bank account! Thanks for the eye opener on the drastic difference between phone and real camera!
    Smiles!
    Terry

Leave a comment