Packing Up the Holiday Flower Bulbs – A Tutorial

TitleBulb

I will start off by saying, I do not have a green thumb. I repeat, I do NOT have a green thumb. In fact, this is the first year that my Christmas Amaryllis has bloomed, so I would like to do my best to keep this puppy around for next year!

With that being said, I’ve done some research and saving the bulb from the Amaryllis seems to be pretty easy. But to back up, there are a couple ways to have planted the Amaryllis for blooming – potted in soil or rooted in small rocks and water.  I had rooted in rocks and water, mostly because I didn’t have any soil. So my roots were obviously more wet than if I had planted in soil.

What you need:

  • Your bulbs that have bloomed and then wilted
  • Scissors
  • Handful of soil per bulb (preferred but optional)
  • Paper bag
  • Tags/twine or writing utensil
  • Cool, dry place for storage

First, you shake off the soil or excess water and pat the roots and bulb dry. In my case, I left my root sitting out to air dry for a day or so before moving on to the next step.

Next, you cut the bloom stalk (not the leaves, just the stalk) about 1-2 inches above the bulb. The bulb will use the nutrients stored in the leaves to maintain it’s health while it’s “hibernating”.

DryBulbs

If you have some soil, toss a bit into a paper bag and place the bulb, with roots and leaves attached, into the bag as well. Store in a cool, dry place like a basement until you’re ready to regrow your Amaryllis.  (I didn’t have a paper bag – sad, I know – but made a little sac out of the brown shipping paper.  I used that as my Christmas wrapping theme this year – brown paper packages tied up with strings – and had one roll left.)

If forcing Amaryllis blooms, it takes approximately 6-8 weeks for the flowers to bloom. Keep this in mind next year. I added a tag to my bag so I wouldn’t forget… hopefully! And simply because I know myself, I also made a note on my calendar and added a reminder on my cell phone calendar. I also made sure to note where I was putting the bulbs. Scoff if you must, but I know that come next week I will have forgotten. Do what works for you!

And as a side note, while looking into how to store Amaryllis, I also looked into storing Paperwhite bulbs. The general concensus is that once forced to bloom, Paperwhites will not rebloom after being stored, at least for quite a few years. Direction is to compost them. As the two I have were brought from school home by my children, I have been instructed by the eldest of the two that I am NOT to toss them in the compost. I am to store them as I do the Amaryllis and try again next year, and apparently every year after that until I get another bloom… so I will tag each bulb with each child’s name and date and store them away until next year. (Part of me was relieved at this outcome – the thought of tossing their little bulbs that we checked and smelled every day made me sad.)

BulbsPacked

So there you have it. I hope this has come in handy, and if for nothing else, just a reminder that it’s time to pack those bulbs away until you’re ready to revive them next year!

Signature2

Linking To:

Monday:  Mod Vintage Life – Home ComingMaison de Pax – Cupcakes and Crinoline – Beyond the Picket Fence – Stone Gable – Dwellings   Tuesday:  Elizabeth and Co. – Common Ground – My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia – Coastal Charm – Knick of Time – Cozy Little House   Wednesday:  Savvy Southern Style – Glamorous Affordable Life – City Farmhouse   Thursday:  No Minimalist Here – Imparting Grace – The Charm of Home – From My Front Porch to Yours – Craftberry Bush – The Vintage Farmhouse   Friday:  Miss Mustard Seed – Stylish Patina – Redoux Interiors – My Romantic Home – French Country Cottage  – The Shabby Nest – Jennifer Rizzo  – One Project Closer – I Heart Naptime – The Cottage Market   Saturday:  Life on Lakeshore Drive    Sunday:  Nifty Thrifty Things –  Do Small Things with Love – VMG206 – Finding Silver Pennies

5 thoughts on “Packing Up the Holiday Flower Bulbs – A Tutorial

  1. Good to know, it always seems like such a shame when lovely bulbs like this are just thrown out. I confess I usually just tuck them in a corner, forget about them and then wonder why I don’t get any more flowers!
    I love your tip about putting it on the calender/in your phone – my family laugh but as I always say “If it’s not on the calender it’s not happening!”

  2. I’ve forced paperwhites in the past, they are so pretty. Don’t smell to good though. Amaryllis are pretty too, nice to know you can save the bulb and try again next year. Thanks so much for sharing at AMAZE ME MONDAY…
    Blessings,
    Cindy

Leave a Reply

