Coastal Blue Nightstand

Dare I say, this little cutie might be my favorite redo so far… I am in awe of the finish I got. And I will apologize up front – the depth in the finish is so amazing, I took a ridiculous amount of pictures trying to capture it perfectly. You may get a little photo overload!

I started out with this dingy nightstand. I’m not even sure where it came from. I found it in some rearranging of items awaiting their makeover. Judging by the coat of dirt it was covered in, it had been neglected for some time. After a good scrub, I gave it a little necessary attention, gluing down some veneer trim pieces that had started to come up. All in all though, there were really only a couple spots where the trim was broken. This little table was in great shape!

Nightstand before

So to step back a moment – milk paint. When I first heard about milk paint and the finishes it could render, I wanted it. And I wanted it right then. So I did a little research and found a local retailer who sold Old-Fashioned Milk Paint. I ran out and grabbed a package of Federal Blue – it wasn’t the exact blue I was looking for, but I still loved it. And then the fear set in. I didn’t want to mess it up. And I didn’t want to waste my precious milk paint. So I put it on the shelf and saved it for “something special”. And in the time that passed, I got and used some Miss Mustard Seed Milk Paint (with which I also struggled but overcame the fear factor).

Ok, now back to this piece – so trying to decide what color to do, I came across my original Federal Blue milk paint. I decided I would do a first coat of Federal Blue, lighten it with some white and have a two tone effect… that is NOT what I did. Once I put on the first coat, I stood there staring at this little table. The color was beautiful. It chipped in only a couple places. I was still debating the two tone, so grabbed my coconut oil to add some resist spots. Everywhere the oil touched the paint deepened and seemed to reflect many different levels. I couldn’t bring myself to cover that up. So I just kept going with the oil. I alternated oiling and sanding – the finish is satiny smooth.

And this is what I ended up with. Let me know what you think! Enjoy!

IMG_7857

IMG_7855

IMG_7915

IMG_7897

IMG_7904

IMG_7910

IMG_7864

IMG_7891

Nightstand leg

IMG_7879

Before After

Signature2

I’ve been featured at these fine blogs:

Photobucket        JUNKINLOGO22

Linking To:

Mod Vintage Life – The Shabby Creek Cottage – Imparting Grace – No Minimalist Here – The Charm of Home – From My Front Porch to Yours – Do Small Things with Love – Miss Mustard Seed – My Romantic Home – French Country Cottage – Common Ground – The Shabby Nest – Craftberry Bush – Jennifer Rizzo – Nifty Thrifty ThingsCupcakes and Crinoline – The Cottage Market – Nancherrow   Monthly:  1:  A Joyful Cottage

29 thoughts on “Coastal Blue Nightstand

  1. This is just so gorgeous! I am featuring tomorrow at Redoux. This is the perfect example of why I love painted furniture so much. The photos are just gorgeous too, I can see why you felt the need to take so many!

    • Thank you Maureen. Good attention to detail – it didn’t fit on right the other way, and I liked it better like this. Made more sense to pull the drawer open. But thank you – that answers the, “Hmmm… I wonder if anyone will notice?” question. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Redouxinteriors.com Link Party #135, Refurbished furniture link party December 19th 2013, and features | Redoux Interiors

  3. Pingback: Milk Paint Makeover of a Nightstand

  4. I am going to have to try some milk paint…I just don’t understand what it is though! You did a fabulous job on this piece. I will be on the lookout for old, withered pieces like this in the future. Thanks for the inspiration!

  5. I fell asleep last night thinking about this nightstand…it’s just beautiful! Did you finish it with anything other than the oil? One of my frustrations with the milk paint is that it has continued to chip, so I wondered if I need to sand it more, or seal it with a polyurethane?

    • Hi Lisa – That’s such a nice compliment! Before the pictures, I just did the coconut oil. I ended up sealing with paste wax and it did darken a bit. I haven’t used poly on milk paint, but you can. I guess the good thing is that milk paint is non-toxic, so it’s not like lead paint is chipping off… but I imagine it doesn’t feel nice to have it continue to fall off! If you have waxed the piece already though, I’m not sure how the poly will adhere… but milk paint absorbs into wood, similar to the idea of a stain. So if there is a finish on it already, that’s when it’s more prone to chip. It needs something to grip to. Hope that helps!

Leave a comment