Updated Dry Sink – Spring Paint

We are one step closer to Spring – the clocks have been turned ahead and I will take an hour less sleep if it means that it will be warmer soon! This next redo was an attempt at willing spring to arrive more speedily – it’s a nice pastel green, that means it must be nearly spring, right?!

My sweet neighbor sent me a note the other day to tell me that she was getting rid of a dry sink, and I was welcome to it. It was a dated, dark pine and although sturdy, had seen better days. Truth be told, I’ve never quite understood dry sinks… I understand their practical and historical, pre-plumbing use, but I don’t get the reproductions. They defy some rule in my subconscious… Anyhow, it was free and since I wasn’t keeping it, it didn’t really matter whether I “get them” or not. And if the new owner didn’t get the dry sink concept either, it could be used as a springtime potting bench! (I’m really trying, can you tell? Spring will get here!)

So I started with this…

20140308_082919

There was a little wooden plug missing in the front, so I popped one off the back and replaced it. I figured no one would miss it there. After mixing up a custom color using The Old Fashioned Milk Paint Company’s Milk Paint Base, blue, green, and white acrylic paints, I gave it two coats and waited for it to dry.  If you would like to know how to make any color of your own milk paint, I posted instructions here.

Even if for nothing else, this could be one of the biggest reasons I love milk paint – it dries so quickly. The first coat dries within minutes, the second takes a bit longer, but is generally workable within an hour or so. I don’t very often go past the second coat – I find that it just starts to pull up your paint after that. Not always, but enough, and two coats usually gives the aged finish I’m looking for.  This picture was after the first coat was applied.  The lighter colored areas are dry – it always looks fairly ugly after the first coat.

RevivedDrySinkMilkPaint1

While the paint was drying, I cut and secured a pretty vintage paper for the drawer liner. Once the paint dried, I went to it with my scraper, knocking off any areas that were open to chipping. A quick coat of clear paste wax and this baby was done! I put the original knobs back on – previously they looked tired, but with the green, they popped and look fresh.

RevivedDrySink1

RevivedDrySink2

RevivedDrySink4Collage

RevivedDrySink5

RevivedDrySink3Collage

RevivedDrySink_BeforeAfter

Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think! And if you would like to follow me, there are a few different options to the right.

Signature2

Featured at these wonderful blogs:

The Interior Frugalista      {nifty button}   Savvy Southern Style   Embracing Change    Vintage and Antique Decor Link Party at http://knickoftimeinteriors.blogspot.com/

Linking To:

Sunday:  Nifty Thrifty Things –  Do Small Things with Love – VMG206 – Finding Silver Pennies – SohoSonnet  Monday:  Mod Vintage Life – Home Coming – Cupcakes and Crinoline – Beyond the Picket Fence – Stone Gable – Dwellings   Tuesday:  Elizabeth and Co. – Common Ground – My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia – Coastal Charm – Knick of Time – Cozy Little House – Tiny Sidekick – Domestically Speaking   Wednesday:  Savvy Southern Style – Glamorous Affordable Life  – Redoux Interiors – City Farmhouse – The Dedicated House – Chic By Tab – Style Sisters  Thursday:  No Minimalist Here – Imparting Grace – The Charm of Home – From My Front Porch to Yours – Craftberry Bush Embracing Change – The Vintage Farmhouse – A Prudent Life   Friday:  Miss Mustard Seed – Nancherrow – Funky Junk Interiors – Stylish Patina – My Romantic Home – French Country Cottage  – The Shabby Nest – Jennifer Rizzo  – One Project Closer – I Heart Naptime – The Cottage Market   Saturday:  Life on Lakeshore Drive    

29 thoughts on “Updated Dry Sink – Spring Paint

  1. How charming! You transformed that piece and managed to retain the knobs. You’re right, they look so much better on the new color. You’ve breathed new life into it. Great job. I saw your post at Silver Pennies. Ann Marie @ Iris Abbey

  2. Oh wow, what a great transformation. I love the new color. I would love for you to link up to my ongoing Inspire Me Tues. party – – -http://www.astrollthrulife.net/2014/03/207th-inspire-me-tuesday-grain-sack.html Hope to see you there. Hugs, Marty

    • Thanks Ricki – the milk paint base is awesome. The only thing I’ve noticed is that it doesn’t seem to chip as nicely when mixed with acrylics. I have to work at it more. But I still love the finish – it’s just a bit different than full milk paint.

  3. Pingback: Creative Inspirations Linky Party Features

  4. That’s a charming, adorable transformation. And I can tell you at least one new use for a dry sink. I have been searching for one to put on the wall between the door to the garage and the kitchen. It will be a spot for charging phones and iPads, jopening the mail, dropping off my purse and my husband’s keys, wallet, and sunglasses. I think it will help us stay organized but keep the mess a little hidden from view.

  5. Pingback: Project Inspire{d} Link Party: Painted Furniture Redos | Silly Pearl

Leave a comment