Grey-Blue Chest of Drawers

Ok! Two posts in a week(ish) timeframe… not too shabby for little me! Let’s hop to it then and get to business…

I purchased this chest of drawers for a song. For real – I think I actually sang when I found it.  It was structurally sound, but had some exterior cosmetic issues. Some scratches and gouges in the drawer fronts, the rear caster wheels were broken.  The fact that it was on casters made me sing again – made moving it so much easier. But nothing a little paint and repurposed wheels couldn’t fix. (I used the wheels from an old rolling cabinet TV.)

Before

I painted in a mix of Miss Mustard Seed’s Milk Paint in Shutter Grey and Flow Blue, creating a wonderful color that looks different depending on the lighting – more grey sometimes, more cornflower blue others. But always pretty! For the highlighted areas, I mixed some white acrylic paint with the remaining milk paint. Chipped off the natural chipping areas with the scraper, sanded down to blend the sudden contrast in the highlighted areas, sealed with clear wax and done! (That makes it sound so easy, doesn’t it?…)

Please let me know what you think in the Comments below, and you can Follow my blog using one of the buttons to the right. Enjoy!

After1

After2

After3

After4

After5

After6

If you like this dresser as much as I do, it can be purchased at Rebecca Christine’s Consignment Boutique.

And the final Before & After….

Before_After

 

Signature2

 

 

I’ve been featured at these wonderful blogs:

Miss Mustard Seed Milk Paint

French Country Cottage

Embracing Change

Friday:  Miss Mustard Seed – Nancherrow – Funky Junk Interiors – Stylish Patina – My Romantic Home – French Country Cottage  – The Shabby Nest – Jennifer Rizzo  – One Project Closer – I Heart Naptime – The Cottage Market   Saturday:  Life on Lakeshore Drive    Sunday:  Nifty Thrifty Things –  Do Small Things with Love – VMG206 – Finding Silver Pennies – SohoSonnet  Monday:  Mod Vintage Life – Home Coming – Cupcakes and Crinoline – Beyond the Picket Fence – Stone Gable – Dwellings  Tuesday:  Elizabeth and Co. – Common Ground – My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia – Coastal Charm – Knick of Time – Cozy Little House – Tiny Sidekick – Domestically Speaking – We Call It Junkin  Wednesday:  Savvy Southern Style – Glamorous Affordable Life  – Redoux Interiors – City Farmhouse – The Dedicated House – Chic By Tab – Style Sisters  Thursday:  No Minimalist Here – Imparting Grace – The Charm of Home – From My Front Porch to Yours – Craftberry BushEmbracing Change – The Vintage Farmhouse – A Prudent Life

14 thoughts on “Grey-Blue Chest of Drawers

  1. Hi Delia! I’m a new follower. You did a lovely job on this dresser. I think I would have snagged it, too. Although I’m not a blue fan (only because it’s not a color in my home at the moment) I really like the way it looks on this piece. It should sell quickly! Can’t wait to see what you will do next!

  2. I love this! It was a good piece to start, with lovely details and your outcome is wonderful!! I’m becoming more and more intrigued with these paint projects I keep seeing on the blogs. I’m an artist to begin with so this should be a natural for me, but I find it intimidating. I should probably buy a few inexpensive small pieces and just dive in. Thanks for the inspiration! (Btw, my dad always used to refinish his own pieces with antiquing and such. He even sometimes built his own pieces. I really must give it a try.)

    • Hi Lory – Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment. I’m not sure what style art you practice, but my head goes straight to painter? You may try to find a piece plain enough that it offers you a “canvas” of sorts to insert your own style? Just a thought. Your blog is beautiful and elegant. So glad you could find inspiration in my dresser!

  3. Pingback: Creative Inspirations Linky Party Features

Leave a comment